Congress releases fifth list for LS polls


New Delhi,  The Congress on Monday night released its fifth list of party candidates for the Lok Sabha elections.

The party has fielded former Union Minister M.M. Pallam Raju from Kakinada in Andhra Pradesh, Bhubaneswar Kalita from Mangaldoi in Assam and Deepa Dasmunsi from Raiganj in West Bengal.

The party also released the list of candidates for Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha. It declared 36 candidates in Odisha and 132 in Andhra Pradesh.

The list of 56 Lok Sabha candidates include 22 from Andhra Pradesh, five from Assam, six from Odisha, eight from Telangana, three from Uttar Pradesh, 11 from West Bengal and one from Lakshadweep.

The party has re-nominated its sitting MP Abhijit Mukherjee, son of former President Pranab Mukherjee from Jangipur in West Bengal. It has again fielded party MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury from Baharampur.

Party leader Madhu Goud Yaskhi has been fielded from Nizamabad in Telangana.